Jackson Holliday: Everything You Need To Know

The Orioles are reportedly calling up baseball's No. 1 prospect, per ESPN's Jeff Passan. Here's all of our analysis in one place.

Here’s How Jackson Holliday Will Impact The Orioles

While Jackson Holliday didn’t make the Orioles’ Opening Day roster, it appears his stay in Norfolk was exceptionally brief. According to ESPN’s Jeff Passan, Jackson Holliday is headed to the major leagues.

Holliday, baseball’s No. 1 prospect, hit .333/.482/.595 for Triple-A Norfolk in 10 games. Holliday’s promotion comes after playing second base in the minors for the last week and a half, which is expected to become his primary position in the majors. The Orioles also wanted him to get some at-bats against lefthanders. In 11 plate appearances against lefties so far this season, he was 4-for-10 with two doubles, a home run and a sacrifice fly for a .400/.364/.900 slash line. He had not struck out against a lefty.

You can find J.J. Cooper’s full breakdown below, including why Holliday is eligible for the Prospect Promotion Incentive.

THE JACKSON HOLLIDAY ESSENTIALS

We’ve written a lot about Jackson Holliday. Below, you can find a mix of our content ranging from his most recent prospect rankings to Holliday’s exploits as a draft prospect.

No. 1 Prospect: Holliday entered the year as the No. 1 prospect in baseball. Holliday was the third consecutive Orioles preseason No. 1 prospect, which is an unprecedented run of success for any team.

Full Scouting Report: See why we believe Holliday is an all-star-caliber middle infielder.

Holliday also…

You can find all of our recent stories mentioning Holliday here.

BA PROSPECT PROFILE

J.J. Cooper, Carlos Collazo and Scott Braun analyzed Jackson Holliday’s rapid rise to the majors in our new Prospect Profile series.

You can also get our Prospect Profiles on our podcast channel.

Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Player FM

THE DRAFT PROCESS

We pride ourselves on alerting our subscribers to the stars of tomorrow sooner than anyone else. We started writing about Holliday in earnest just over four years ago, when he checked in as a second-team preseason All-American in 2022. He was mostly viewed as a fringe first-rounder entering his senior season.

Then, of course, Holliday went nuclear that spring.

Baseball America’s Carlos Collazo identified him as an industry favorite and riser in early March 2022. By the end of the month, most in the industry viewed him as the top high school shortstop in the class. And he kept on hitting, barnstorming the Oklahoma prep baseball scene.

Here’s a great quote from Holliday to Baseball America’s J.J. Cooper about the changes he made to unlock another level of his game.

“Yeah, absolutely. I think after the summer circuit, I was able to accomplish everything that that I wanted to do. I wanted to play in the Perfect Game and play on the USA team and do all the showcase stuff that I was able to do. And I didn't play near as well as I wanted to. My swing got a little out of whack. Kind of had some bad tendencies. In high school I was able to get a get away with it. And then going into the summer I kind of got exposed a little bit. But yeah, I got home, I knew that I wanted to get drafted. That's what I wanted to do. I got a lot stronger, I started lifting two times a day, my brother, we're gonna be on the same team. So I was able to just drive him to our lifts in the morning, take a drive, yeah, take him to school, and now go back home. So I was able to do online classes, which was very helpful for me able to really train and work out until my dad and practice with the homestay team that that helped a lot. And then I was just sitting in the living room one day messing around my swing. And I just want to make it more simple just kind of start like where I wanted to load from and everything kind of kind of clicked from there.”

The Orioles ultimately selected Holliday No. 1 overall that July and his rapid ascent only continued in pro ball, which feels like a great time to re-up one of our favorite recent covers.

INTERESTED IN SUBSCRIBING TO BASEBALL AMERICA?

Join the thousands of fans, players, coaches and front office personnel who are the backbone of the Baseball America community by subscribing today.